top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Guide with Ndo

The next Eastern Cape top model: Meet Yanelisa.


YouTube sensation, Yanelisa Ketiwe is gunning for a prestigious title. We caught up with the FEENIX ambassador and DUT student to get to know her a little bit more…


Q:Tell us about your self?

A:I am a twenty year old Mpondo girl. Born and bred in the deep rural areas of the Eastern Cape, Mbizana, eMbobeni location. Growing up, I was a reserved child and yet extroverted. I was involved in all kinds of entertainment platforms, I was once a first runner up model for a fundraising project, it was the happiest moment of my life. In my primary township school, we were compelled to sing, play sports, act, be poets… There was a lot of talent recognition and mentoring back then. I think that’s what made me who I am today. This ambitious, goal driven, smart, eloquent speaker and kindest acquaintance you’ll ever come across to. I was groomed to strive for greatness and be the smartest person in the room. Leave a mark.


Q:OK. What is the story behind the competition?

A:To be honest, I’ve never really thought of modelling as one my “hobbies” which can generate a second income in future. My mom was the one to gas that up when I was twelve, recommending prestigious modelling agencies, but I always doubted myself. Long story short, I decided to embark on this journey because I don’t like limitations, I was one of the finalists for Miss Humanitarian South Africa 2020 and I believe that this is just the beginning.


Q:If you win the title, what difference would you do in your community?

A:I am currently a part of a non-profit organization ‘Courageous youth’ that was founded my sister last year. It was launched last year December and since the Corona outbreak this year, we haven’t been able to do much as the sponsors were tied up by the regulations too. I would love to help out more on this organization and hopefully, I can have my own program under it, that focuses on any kind of talent.


Q:What’s your five year plan?

A:I’m the most laziest and hard working person you’ll ever meet! So I don’t really draft out my goals and stuff, but I do get things done. I would love to see myself having empowered and educated a few black women, especially in my community by the age of 25. Having my own foundation that focuses on youth development and that challenges them to strive for greatness in their talents. Making allies with brands that have the same vision as me.


Q:What’s your pet peeve?

A:Oh my God. I hate it when someone doesn’t compliment my mind. I find it ridiculously ignorant, that’s where I get my stimulus.


Q:Who do you admire and why?

A:I admire my mom so much. Besides the fact that I am here doppelganger, I love her ambitious, kind and wise spirit. She is unapologetically herself and has raised us to possess those traits, to think on our feet. I draw a lot from her. She is me.


Q:What do you currently do?

A:I am currently studying Operations management, second year at the Durban University of Technology.


Q:What is the biggest life lesson you’ve learnt that you’ll never forget?

A:Don’t ever make the mistake of limiting yourself, because you can never know how great you can be. You’ll never know who’s watching you and being inspired by your authenticity. Don’t doubt yourself.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Wax on! Wax off!

If it weren’t for the Mirena removal theater procedure, I probably would have postponed my Brazilian wax appointment again. I’ve lived with ingrowns all my life and had become accustomed and comfortab

bottom of page