top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Guide with Ndo

THE NEXT BIG THING :You're Welcome!


Lungile Gumbi is a God fearing young lady, born and breed in Empangeni. The bubbly 25 year old is a local favourite for her stunning Picnic setups, catering services and exciting Instagram feed. She's passionate about working with people, an advocate for saving the environment as she was part of the green initiative while in university. Let's get to know why she's the next big thing.


Q:Picnics at the beach? How did that idea come about? A:Well I was always a fan of the beach and dates by the beach, but the initial idea came when me and my friends made it a habit to have mini picnic dates by the beach. I enjoyed it so much that I wanted everyone to have the same experience but with a professional setup.


Q: What's the biggest challenge you face in your business? A: Not having enough resources, I end up having clients wanting setups for a bigger crowd. Unfortunately, I can't accommodate a big number due to limited resources.





Q: How do you make sure all your setups are cohesive? What are the three main elements you can't do without? A: I always pick a table runner first and it ties the whole setup. The three elements I can't do without are my cushions, napkins and a center piece.


Q: You're welcome is a side hustle, what are you qualified to do? A: I studied internal audit, currently doing my internship at the City municipality.


Q: How do you find balance between both?, how do you keep your creative juices flowing? A: Work requires focus hence I'm all work during the week then push my side hustle on weekends. I do a lot of window shopping, especially for my main pieces even if I don't have an upcoming client, so when I do I usually have a setup in mind.


Q: You enjoy cooking, what is your favorite dish you've created? A: It has to be prawn curry and rice.




Q: Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years?

A: I see myself as a Chief Auditor and my business big enough, with employees to run itself


Q: Do you believe that you'll be the NEXT BIG THING? A: Without a doubt.....





Get to know Lungi in 30 seconds!


Quick quiz (choose 1)


Champagne 🥂 or Wine🍷 Champagne 🥂


Braids or Wigs Braids


Coast 🌊 or inland 🏜vacation Coast


Seafood 🦐 or Red meat 🥩 Seafood


Fancy dinner or Picnic Picnic


Follow Lungi on Instagram @_magumbi to get info on how to contact her for a booking. She's also on Facebook as Lungile magumbi and business page is You're welcome catering services.


Follow me, the author on Instagram @n_mhlongo.


With guidance

Nontando

196 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page