top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Guide with Ndo

THE NEXT BIG THING : You got to love Zilo!

I wish I could open this article with the cliché line, "I sat down and had a chat with make up enthusiast..." But due to the global pandemic outbreak, this 'chat' took place online. Khwezilokusa Ndlovu is a professional makeup artist based in Durban. Khwezilokusa is also a lovely daughter, a loving sister and a wonderful girlfriend. With so many hats to wear, Khwezilokusa lives in her truth and decided to pursue her dream in makeup artistry in the year, 2015. She is a straight talker, a realist, humble and true believer in Christ. Let's get to know why we got to love Zilo!


Q: When did your love for make up begin? A: I've always been into makeup but I didn't know that I could have a career out of it .I used to always watch youtube videos and this one time I ran up the internet bill to R4000 that month, which my mother made me pay off😢 ... When I attended AFDA I saw that being  a makeup artist is needed in entertainment industry for TV and film, so I took to study costume makeup and production design course for my last semester. I then dropped out and focused more on makeup. Q: Which make up school did you go to? What course did you study and how long did it take for you to be a qualified make up artist? A: Makeup the college. I studied Beauty & Special effects and hairstyling. It took me 5 months to complete. Q:What has been the most challenging aspect about turning your passion into a career? A: The most challenging aspect has been not believing in myself as much as others do and   comparing myself with others. Q: I've also seen that you also run personal make up lessons for individuals, what inspired you to start that? A: People would always compliment me on how I do my own makeup or if I've done their face, they would be happy with the results and want to know how to do their own makeup. Q:Do you get a sense of fulfillment when a student leaves your lesson? A: Yes for sure! Especially when they send me pictures of them attempting to do what I taught them at home. Q: Durban unlike other cities in SA is considered laid back and slow, how do you make your brand work and do you find it challenging to grow? A:  I won't lie, I'm not the greatest when it comes to growing my brand and reason being is that I'm still in college. I'm studying  Health and Skin as well as Natural and Holistic Therapies at Camelot. I am doing my 3rd year so I don't have the time or energy to go all out for my brand. Q: Which occasions do you do make up for and what's the biggest highlight of your career? A: I do makeup for all events/occasions. My highlight would be when I was working on the Mrs Universe project in 2017. Q:Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years? A: Opening up my own beauty center. Q:Do you believe you're the NEXT BIG THING in the beauty industry? A: No, I don't know why I say this is but I dont care for being popular and influential. Get to know Zilo in 30 seconds!!

Quick quiz Red wine or White Wine? I don't drink Heels or Sneakers? Sneakers for sure! I've got flat feet Lipstick or Lipgloss? Lip gloss Cinema or Netflix? Netflix Liquid or Pencil liner? Pencil liner Q:Anything you would like to say in closing? A: I'm just a girl who loves enhancing beauty by painting faces❤️ Follow Zilo on her social media pages @ulovezilos_makeup on Instagram and Make up by Zilo on Facebook. Follow the author and the blog @n_mhlongo @theguidewithndo


108 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Wax on! Wax off!

If it weren’t for the Mirena removal theater procedure, I probably would have postponed my Brazilian wax appointment again. I’ve lived with ingrowns all my life and had become accustomed and comfortab

bottom of page