top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Guide with Ndo

Numa Aesthetics first impressions!



It was a warm Saturday afternoon where me and my big sister we’re having a conversation over a glass of wine while listening to the radio. Over our talks we heard a voice that caught our attention because firstly, the guest was uNjomane (Mhlongo clan name) and she was speaking about a topic which we had been speaking about since last year! I quickly grabbed my phone to go search for her insta handle and business account. My prayers had been answered.

From my pervious skin post which I’ll link below, I did mention I had suffered from problematic skin since puberty. With acne, breakouts, blackheads and scarring from me trying to pop zits every second day. I love wearing makeup but I don’t want to wear it because I don’t have a choice. Your skin is your basic element when it comes to beauty and confidence. So investing in Dr Lu’s treatment was a definite yes (thanks to Shonda Rhimes book, the year of yes, I’m saying YES to me all the time!). After camping on her insta account (@numaaesthetics) for months, I was finally ready to take the first step to getting my skin looking its best.


On arrival!

Very beautiful staff! Emphasis on beautiful! Me and my sister Nkule looked at each other and asked “are we going to be this gorgeous too?” Porcelain skin I tell you! The aesthetics of the rooms were high quality and created an ambiance of luxury and sophistication. I was over excited to meet Dr Lu.




Consultation

The minute we walked in to the doctor’s room she welcomed us with a warm smile and greeting. (I’m sure you can imagine my excitement at this moment). Unlike my sister I have quite a few problems I wanted to inquire about. My skin, weight loss and puffy eyes and ark circles around my eyes. Since I knew she’s a magician when it comes to glow ups, I was more interested in her weight loss program which I will start soon. Dr Lu continued to give me advice and prescribe products which will perfectly suit my skin needs. I have three treatments to do with her and my first one was a Chemical peel.


insta story repost


The treatment

This was my first time getting a chemical peel. I have watched numerous of YouTube videos on getting facials, so this was a surreal moment for me. At touch, the cleansing step is so relaxing and soothing, but the step where they do the peel can be a bit uncomfortable for some. I have a good pain threshold (I mean I had 2 natural births, so I’m a G) it’s a tingly sensation on face, and it differs from one person to the next. For instance my sister had tingly sensation under her chin and around the mouth area, and for me it was around my nose, mouth and eye area. The aesthetician will then proceed to wipe it off your using a very warm towel, invigorating! (Orgasm moment). They will then moisturize and apply sunscreen and you will be good to go.


chemical peel


Here’s my Guide with Ndo if you are planning on visiting Numa Aesthetics:


Finances

Expensive is relative and like I mentioned, getting these treatments is an investment! We spend an average of R500 or more on products (not to mention the makeup and concealers to cover our problematic skin) over the counter. So saving up for getting a custom designed treatment to help eradicate the problem rather than treat it, will save you some coins in the future.


Prepare

Make sure you arrive on time and organize yourself a lift. It’s advisable to avoid direct sunlight after a treatment.


Speak

Let the doctor know all your skin problems. If there’s something you don’t know, ask her. Guys she is such a cool person. Her consultation gives you your value for money. You will walk out the room satisfied and excited! But only if you ask, so speak up


Social media

Numa aesthetics has the most amazing cohesive business Instagram account. Follow the page and tag them on your visit. @numaaesthetics


Patience

It’s not an overnight miracle cream. You need to use the products and be consistent. You will see results sooner than you think.


Self-care

Numa aesthetics room is a self-care haven and their staff is friendly. So drink the coffee, enjoy their music, take videos and selfies and just enjoy and take in the whole experience.


Happy Skin journey

With guidance

Ndo

This is not an AD

114 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Wax on! Wax off!

If it weren’t for the Mirena removal theater procedure, I probably would have postponed my Brazilian wax appointment again. I’ve lived with ingrowns all my life and had become accustomed and comfortab

bottom of page